The Lunar Saxophone Quartet are passionate about commissioning new music. The group felt that with such a wealth of compositional talent at Universities and Conservatoires, students should have a platform to write for the saxophone quartet genre and showcase their works.

The competition sees students submit previously unperformed works, with each year’s competition having slightly different criteria. Entries are shortlisted and a live final in London sees the pieces performed by the quartet to a panel of expert judges which in previous years has included Graham Fitkin, Andy Scott, Gabriel Jackson, Sarah Field and Andrew Poppy.

The LSQ New Music Award’s previous winners include Louis Johnson (University of Liverpool), James Williamson (Royal Academy of Music), Mark David Boden (Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama) and Benjamin Tubb (Royal Northern College of Music).

Several of the winning pieces have been recorded on the group’s two Signum Records These Visions and Flux and/or published.